Plinky: Does Money = Happiness?

Q: Do you think money can buy happiness?

A: I believe this to be one of the biggest trick questions in the world. Sure, the “preferred” answer, is No, it doesn’t buy happiness. But I believe this question to be a combination between vague and an unrealistic idealized concept.

In the perfect world, the idea of money wouldn’t exist – but we don’t live in a perfect world. Money has become a necessary tool in our culture. Let’s face it, (within the “norms” of society), we need it. But does it buy happiness?

I believe so. I get happy after eating a meal. I get happy when I buy a gift for someone. I get happy when I can pay my bills on time. Does my happiness revolve around money? Absolutely not, but it definitely does help me live within my means comfortably. And I’m sure to those – who have the capability to view this – agree to this logic to a certain extent. I feel if someone truly felt that money didn’t buy happiness, then they wouldn’t waste their money on materialistic items (such as a computer, phone, etc).

Any and all feedback on this topic is welcome! I always felt this question to be tricky, so I would love to hear what you have to say on the subject. 🙂

Here is an unrelated picture of my cat in a Poland Spring box/bag:

Skitty in her secret club house!

Comments

  1. KEEHHHVIn says:

    Money does make the world go ’round. I agree with you, and im sure if I was living on the street I would have a lot more to be unhappy about right?

  2. My thoughts precisely!

Comment your Insight

