Reasons for my Facebook hiatus

So I recently (last night) decided to take a hiatus from Facebook – I didn’t close out my account, but rather disabled my wall from receiving any further comments. I won’t get into any specific details of what triggered the “straw that broke the camels back”, but I will discuss the overall reasons why Facebook has caused me to really dislike people.

I don’t like to be a negative person, ever. I try to always find the best in people, including myself, but lately, that’s been a trying task for me. This insignificant website has caused my personality to slightly change for the worse, and I’m done with it. I say “hiatus” from Facebook, because I’m not sure how long I will be off of the site (ironically, I have this account set up so my posts will be sent there). Facebook has been a great tool for me to keep in contact with my close friends, and the ones who had moved away, but lately the abundance of stupidity on there is ridiculous.

So here are the reasons for my Facebook hiatus, and how it’s turning me into a mean person – which I cannot stand. (For those of you who are on my Facebook and decided to read this, I guess if you do any of the following items below, it may be insulting. Nothing here is meant to insult anyone, just something that I would like to express. Most likely, if you’re a close friend of mine, it’s not about you anyway.)

1. Chronic Complaining
I’ve seen people complain way more than I would like to. (Ironic since I guess this is a type of complaint?). But, seriously. People don’t know how to have a diary anymore. They complain over the most insignificant trivial things that occur in everyday life. “UGH WEATHER!” “OMG HOMEWORK.” It’s like, really? This is what you came on Facebook to do? Complain, complain, complain. People are always out to get sympathy, it’s quite annoying. After seeing status after status of so many complaints, I really just want to comment, “Shut the fuck up – no one cares.” I want to, but I would never do that.

2. Posting Illegal Activity
Nothing makes my eyes roll more than seeing people outwardly post things about drugs/crimes. It doesn’t bother me at all when people post things anonymously (kind of like on Reddit), but on your personal profile for the world to see? It’s not that difficult to find you on Facebook, including employers, police officers, etc. People really put their trust in the hands of the 300-600+ amount of people they add on their Facebook’s. I mean, what’s stopping anyone from reporting you if they wanted to? Between underage drinking, drug use, selling drugs, etc. – you get the idea. How stupid can you be to announce to the Internet world that this is what you’re doing? I’ve seen a lot of people with that “I don’t give a fuck” kind of attitude, when it comes to posting things like that, and not for nothing, but if you want to get ahead in life, and move out of your parents house, get a real job, etc, you can’t be posting stupid shit like that on-line.

I don’t mean to form any type of stereotyping with what I said, but the majority of the people (on my Facebook) who post things like that, are in that boat of living at home with their parents with some form of retail job. I don’t even care what people do with their life, when it comes to drugs or whatever, but really? Keep it to yourself. No one cares – and the people that do care, will judge you harshly for it.

3. Racy Photos
It embarrasses me so much when I see people posting racy photos on-line. Have you not learned? When it’s on the Internet, it’s there forever. Let’s say you’re a female posting a photo of yourself in nothing but a bra, and you have 200 Facebook friends. Not only can 200 people see this stupid photo of yourself, but now a bunch of those horny males/females can right-click, save. Does anyone else find that remotely uncomfortable? I’m not sure that people would even save it, since he/she knows that it’s available on your Facebook, but in all seriousness, what the fuck is stopping anyone from doing that? People need to realize most people don’t want to see that kind of shit, and those who do, well, you don’t know what they’ll do with your photos.

4. TMI
Like racy photos, I’ve seen a lot of people posting way too much information on their Facebook’s. One recent thing I’ve noticed was, “Ugh, So horny” How fucking weird and unnecessary is that? You’re (usually) connected to friends, family, and coworkers none of which would like to know that you’re horny, or any other weird shit like that. I feel like people forget that Facebook is for connecting with friends and families and general socialization, not for telling the world that you’re horny.

5. Grammar
Oh, grammar. My occupation consists of editorial work, so bad grammar always irks me. Something about seeing comments that look like this: “Harold will does there laundry four them.” I cannot stand terrible grammar, sure, a mistake here and there, we all make them. But, I just can’t stand it. It makes me want to be that annoying Grammar-Nazi and correct the shit out of it. Also seeing people tAlK LyK DiS is equally, if not more, annoying. This (the reason for my hiatus) is the most minute reason, but it just makes me judge people negatively, and I really don’t like to do that.

And so, those are the top five reasons why I’m taking a leave of absence. There are more reasons, but there’s no need to go into it. How about you, reader? Have you ever taken a break from Facebook or deleted it completely?

Comments

  1. I understand where you’re coming from, my love. That shit annoys me too. When I’m sick of seeing shit that I don’t care about from people on my facebook, I just edit my newsfeed so certain people don’t pop up with their statuses, but without actually deleting them from my friends list. But don’t leave forever! I’ll miss you too much ❤

    • I’ve done that a lot, but there’s just a lot of bullshit that I don’t feel like dealing with at the moment, so I think a hiatus will be best for me. Oh, and in other news, I’m going to evacuate to PA.

  2. How do I deactivate my account – without deleting it. FB help says it is possible to do so, but a friend (not virtual) said the changes take effect only after 14 days. FB is a great way way to reconnect with friends etc but for reasons similar to those mentioned above, I want to get away for a while, more so because I recently realized it took up so much of my time that I haven’t read a book in weeks.
    I posted a lot of stuff, quotes, notes, pictures etc which I would like to retain. Please help.

    Thanks

    • When you deactivate your account (which can be found: here) it will seem like you deleted it, so you won’t be able to view anything such as your notes/pictures, etc. (and neither will any of your FB friends). All you need to do is sign in again to reactivate it. Personally, I felt there wasn’t much of a point to deactivating and reactivating it – you mind as well just sign off and stay signed off; it will give you the same effect.

  3. great article, I too get tired of FB at times I want to delete it, but I just block or change my settings so I don’t see post from certain people.

Comment your Insight

