Lion Country Safari

I recently had the pleasure of visiting the Lion Country Safari with some friends in Loxahatchee, FL, which is about a 40 minute drive from West Palm Beach. This safari offers both a drive-through and a walk-through tour for an extremely reasonable price. This trip was both visually stunning and educational, although I wish it were a bit cooler when I went. (There is also a water/theme park, but I didn’t get a chance to utilize it).




(From left to right): A Rhea (Rhea americana) next to a Gemsbok (Oryx gazella gazella) and Waterbuck’s (Kobus ellipsiprymus).

(From left to right): An Impala (Aepyceros melampus) next to a Wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus) and a Gemsbok.

(From left to right): More Gemsbok’s, and (I think) a Kulan (Equus hemionus kulan).


(From left to right): A Blackbuck (Antilope cervicapra) and Impala’s.

(From left to right): A blackbuck, and Eland’s (Taurotragus oryx).




Zebras! In the first photo the two zebra’s on the left were cleaning each other :]

When the (Southern White) Rhino’s were crossing in front of our car it felt like we were in Jurassic Park.




Flamingo’s and a goat making a derp face haha.

Feeding the giraffes! They were adorable and super friendly!

Such cute, yet awkward creatures.

There were many more animals that I didn’t get a chance to see. If you’re in Florida and looking for a lovely daycation at a reasonable price I would highly recommend coming here. On their website there are pricing options / coupons when purchasing tickets.

Just a small bit of advice when purchasing via the internet: My friend and I both purchased tickets (separately) but for whatever reason, after I purchased mine and printed it out, when she tried to get her ticket and open the PDF file of it, it was just a copy of my ticket. I’m not sure why it did that, but, just in case anyone wants to buy tickets offline, buy them all at once, or use a separate computer (to avoid an annoying glitch).

If anyone wants more information about the animals/safari, etc, feel free to leave a comment! :]

Comments

  1. Your prowess as a photographer never ceases to amaze me.

  2. I would love to do something like this! Great photos too.

Comment your Insight

