The 5:6 Reading Challenge

So I recently stumbled upon the 10.10.10 challenge, and it peaked my interest.

I’ve never done anything like this, but I think I’m going to try it, but a bit tweaked.

Since I recently started becoming more engaged in the novel that I am writing/editing, I think I want to be able to divide my time between the two.

So, I’m going to challenge myself to do a 5:6 Challenge, which is to read 5 books from 6 different categories, which will be 30 books, starting November 1st and ending September 1st, giving myself 10 full months to reading something new. (And about roughly 3 books a month)

I will track my efforts here, and categorize it under “5:6 Challenge” for those who are interested in keeping track of it. This is a huge challenge for me, aside from being busy often, I admit, I tend to read fairly slowly and not as often as I would like.

From reading through the 101010 blog, I realized one downfall they mentioned was feeling rushed to read 100 books in a short amount of time. By changing the challenge to 30 books, I feel this will be more doable for the busy-bee (and for the slow reader).

Now! I already have one book in mind, which is Fight Club. That’s going to be the first book that I plan to read.

If any reader has something they’d like to recommend, please, feel free to comment it here, along with the category it belongs to. Once I accumulate the list of categories/books, I will post it for all to see.

Comments

  1. This is an interesting post. It reminds me of something I recently wrote on my blog. I also think you should check this out:

    http://creativityforsocialgood.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/simon-sinek-notes-to-inspire-020/#respond

  2. I love your Blog, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the blogs value.

Comment your Insight

